Journeys

JOURNEYS – das sind sechs Schweizer Profimusiker, die mit ihren funkigen Smooth-Jazz-Fusion Eigenkompositionen seit über 15 Jahren ein breites Konzert- und Radiopublikum in Europa und Nordamerika begeistern. Ihr aktuelles, drittes Studioalbum „Transit“ wurde im März 2017 veröffentlicht.

Mit der Gründung der Band JOURNEYS im Jahr 2000 hat sich eine Gruppe alter Freunde zusammengefunden. Die 6 Profimusiker kennen sich seit vielen Jahren aus diversen Projekten und Formationen. Sie sind in einer Zeit der musikalischen Umbrüche aufgewachsen und sprechen die gleiche Sprache. Auf der Bühne geben sie sich gegenseitig viel kreativen Raum, denn sie müssen sich nicht mehr beweisen, sondern können voller Entdeckergeist und Spielfreude das tun, was sie am besten können: Ihr Publikum mitnehmen auf musikalische Reisen quer durch Nordamerika, Südamerika und die Karibik.

Journeys

Die Eigenkompositionen von JOURNEYS stammen mehrheitlich von Angelo Signore, & Philippe Mall, aber auch Ueli Gasser verfasst eigene Songs. Während die Smooth-Jazz, Fusion, Funk und Latin-Elemente einen rhythmisch und harmonisch reichhaltigen Klangteppich bilden, sorgt die klare Melodieführung jederzeit für einen mühelos nachvollziehbaren roten Faden. Aus diesem Grund sprechen die groovigen Funk-Nummern, melodischen Balladen und einfallsreichen Latin-Jazz-Kompositionen nicht nur Jazzliebhaber an, sondern ein breitgefächertes Mehrgenerationen-Publikum.

Zusammengerechnet verfügen die Mitglieder von JOURNEYS über fast 250 Jahre musikalische Erfahrung, die sie in die Band einbringen: Angelo Signore (piano/keyboards) hat ein aussergewöhnliches Talent für Komposition und hält die musikalischen Fäden in der Hand; Willy Kotoun (percussion) spürt, ob eine Idee wirklich funktioniert und steuert den Groove; Robert Mark (drums/percussion) ist der Motor der Band und tritt gegen aussen als Ansprechpartner auf; Luciano Maranta (e-bass) ist die Ruhe selbst und legt mit seinem Bass das musikalische Fundament; Ueli Gasser (guitars) ist harmonisch versiert und vermag in jeder musikalischen Stilrichtung zu überzeugen, und Philippe Mall (sax) liebt die Improvisation und regt zum Experimentieren an.

Nach „Different Places” (2004) und „New Destinations“ (2012) haben JOURNEYS im März 2017 bei NiRo Music ihr drittes Studioalbum „Transit“ veröffentlicht. Auch in dieser Veröffentlichung bleibt die Band ihrem Stil treu, ergänzt ihn jedoch durch Lounge-Elemente. Produziert wurde das Album von Angelo Signore, aufgenommen wurde es von Urs Wiesendanger in den Power Play Studios in Maur/Zürich.

Im Mai 2014 tourten JOURNEYS zwei Wochen durch die USA und Kanada und traten dort in einigen der exklusivsten Jazzclubs Nordamerikas auf. Eine weitere Konzerttournee an der US-Ostküste ist für den September 2017 geplant.
 
 

JOURNEYS SIND

Angelo Signore (piano/keyboards)

Angelo SignoreAngelo Signore (*1963) studierte an der Grove School of Music in Los Angeles u.A. bei T. Lavitz und Terry Trotter Piano & Keyboard. Er ist als Musiker, Arrangeur, Komponist und Musical Director tätig und begleitete als musikalischer Leiter und Arrangeur verschiedene Musicals und Gospel-Touren. Er trat mit dem Wayne Johnson Quartet auf und spielte u.a. mit Phil Collins, Nubya, Gil Scott Heron, Toni Vescoli, Ian Paice, John Lord, Jeff Turner, John Brack, Rolf Raggenbass, Othella Dallas, Simon Estes, Francine Jordi, Maja Brunner, Carmen Fenk, Mark Storace, Krüger Brothers und Lys Assia.
Angelo Signore ist Fachexperte an der Schweizer Akademie für Musik und Musikpädagogik (SAMP) und arbeitet als Produzent im eigenen Tonstudio.

Willy Kotoun (percussion)

Willy KotounWilly Kotoun (*1953) absolvierte die Fachausbildung für afro-kubanische Percussion am Instituto Superior de Arte in Havanna/Kuba und eignete sich in Conakry/Guinea Kenntnisse in westafrikanischer Musik an. Er ist europaweit als Berufsmusiker und Musiklehrer tätig und engagiert sich intensiv für die Percussion-Musik in der Schweiz. 1996 entwickelte er den Kurs Körper & Rhythmik, der rhythmisches und körperliches Verständnis für afrikanisch beeinflusste Musik vermittelt. Während sechs Jahren begleitete er die Flamenco-Künstlerin Nina Corti; während zwanzig Jahren war er Mitglied der Stefan Kurmann Strings. Drei Touren mit Sonic Calligraphy führten ihn nach China, drei mit AMAGONG nach Burkina Faso. Zur Zeit ist er Mitglied des Martin Dahanukar Quartet.
Willy Kotoun unterrichtet Percussion und Rhythmik an den Musikhochschulen Luzern und Zürich sowie an der Musikschule Konservatorium Zürich (MKZ).

Robert Mark (drums/percussion)

Robert MarkRobert Mark (*1957) studierte Schlagzeug und Perkussion am Berklee College of Music in Boston und am Drummers Collective in New York. Er ist Mitglied des Andy Harder Quartett und engagiert sich in Spezialprojekten wie Soundscapes (mit der Kirchenorganistin Zrinka Durut); Sun da l’Engiadina (Musik des Unterengadins) und Hochformat (Auftritte in riesigen, überakustischen Räumen).
Robert Mark unterrichtet Schlagzeug, Perkussion und Ensembles an der Musikschule Konservatorium Zürich (MKZ) und an den Kantonsschulen Rämibühl und Zürich Nord. Ausserdem ist er Dozent für Fachdidaktik an der Hochschule der Künste in Bern.

Luciano Maranta (e-bass)

Luciano MarantaLuciano Maranta (*1953) studierte klassische Gitarre am Konservatorium Zürich und besuchte anschliessend die Jazzschule Zürich. Während eines Kuba-Aufenthalts bildete er sich weiter bei Francisco Rubio (Bassist von Chucho Valdes, Isaac Delgado und Paulito). Er arbeitete als Studio- und Live-Bassist in diversen Formationen, spielte u.a. mit Suzanne Klee und Frank Tender und trat am Schweizer Fernsehen auf mit Joe Cocker, Sarah Connor, Phil Collins, Kylie Minogue, Laura Pausini, Carmen Fenk und Helen Schneider.
Luciano Maranta unterrichtet Gitarre und E-Bass an der Musikschule Konservatorium Zürich (MKZ).

Ueli Gasser (guitars)

Ueli GasserUeli Gasser (*1952) studierte an der Musikhochschule Bern Jazz-Gitarre. Er war während Jahren Mitglied der DRS-Bigband und leitete seine eigene Formation Swisshorns. Er ist als Studiomusiker tätig und trat u.a. auf mit Polo Hofer, Hardy Hepp, Toni Vescoli, Bo Katzmann, Max Lässer, Rolf Raggenbass, Helmut Zerlett, Christy Doran, Fredy Studer, Roul Walton, Glenn Ferris, Vladyslav Sendecky, Keiser Twins, Franco Ambrosetti, Toots Thielemans, Jiggs Wigham, Othella Dallas, Craig Russell, Lenny Pickett, Pierre Favre, Joan Orleans sowie dem Tonhalle-Orchester unter David Zinman.
Ueli Gasser ist Dozent an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) und lehrte an den Jazz-Schulen Bern und St. Gallen.

Philippe Mall (sax)

Philippe MallPhilippe Mall (*1956) studierte Saxophon am Konservatorium Bern und anschliessend an der Swiss Jazz School Bern. Er leitete mehrere eigene Bands (u.a. Head To Toe, The Insects, Ph.Mall Quartet) und spielte mit ihnen mehre Alben ein. Mit dem Acustic Art Trio aus Ostdeutschland war er vor dem Mauerfall auf DDR-Tournee. Er arbeitete als Gastmusiker u.a. mit Harald Haerter, JoJo Mayer, Dave Doran, Minus 8, El Zorro und Stephan Rigert und gab Konzerte mit seiner Grossformation Paradigma Orchester (Minimal Jazz mit Streichquartett). Zur Zeit nimmt er mit seiner aktuellen Jazz-Band Hydra ein Album auf.
Philippe Mall ist Dozent an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK).


Musikstile: Jazz, Funk, Fusion
 
Website: www.journeys.ch
Facebook: facebook.com/journeys.jazz


 
Erschienen bei NiRo Sounds:

Journeys

JOURNEYS are six Swiss professional musicians who have delighted a wide range of concert and radio audiences with their funky Smooth-Jazz-Fusion compositions across Europe and North America for more than 15 years. Their current, third studio album “Transit”, was released in March 2017.

The founding of the band JOURNEYS in the year 2000 marks the reunion of a group of old friends. The six professional musicians of the band have known each other for years from various projects and collaborations. They grew up in a time of musical transitions and speak the same language. On stage, they give each other a great deal of creative freedom because they no longer have to prove who they are. With great enthusiasm and a spirit of discovery, they can do what they do best: taking their audience on musical journeys across North America, South America, and the Caribbean.
 
JourneysJOURNEYS’ original compositions are mainly by Angelo Signore, & Philippe Mall, but Ueli Gasser also writes his own songs. While the Smooth Jazz, Fusion, Funk and Latin elements form a soundscape that is rich in rhythm and harmony, the clear melodic direction continually ensures an easily-traceable common theme. This is why the groovy Funk pieces, lyrical ballads, and creative Latin Jazz compositions appeal to not just Jazz lovers, but a broad, multi-generational audience.
 
Collectively, the members of JOURNEYS have close to 250 years of musical experience: Angelo Signore (piano/keyboards) has an extraordinary talent for composition and stays in control of the musical themes; Willy Kotoun (percussion) senses when an idea is truly working and guides the groove; Robert Mark (drums/percussion) is the driving force behind the band and handles public relations; Luciano Maranta (e-bass) is completely relaxed and lays down the musical foundation with his bass; Ueli Gasser (guitars) is harmonically well-versed and is convincing no matter what the musical style, and Philippe Mall (sax) loves improvisation and inspires experimentation.
 
Following “Different Places” (2004) and “New Destinations” (2012) JOURNEYS have released their third album “Transit”, in March 2017. In this release, the band stays true to their distinct style, but complements it with Lounge elements. The album was produced by Angelo Signore, recorded by Urs Wiesendanger in the Power Play Studios in Maur/Zurich and published by NiRo Music.
 
In May 2014, JOURNEYS toured in the US and Canada, performing in some of the most exclusive jazz clubs of North America. An additional concert tour along the US East Coast is planned for September 2017.
 
 

JOURNEYS MEMBERS ARE

Angelo Signore (piano/keyboards)

Angelo SignoreAngelo Signore (*1963) studied piano & keyboard at the Grove School of Music in Los Angeles with artists such as T. Lavitz and Terry Trotter. He is active in the roles of musician, arranger, composer, and musical director and served as the musical director for various musicals and gospel tours. He has performed with the Wayne Johnson Quartet and has played with artists such as Phil Collins, Nubya, Gil Scott Heron, Toni Vescoli, Ian Paice, John Lord, Jeff Turner, John Brack, Rolf Raggenbass, Othella Dallas, Simon Estes, Francine Jordi, Maja Brunner, Carmen Fenk, Mark Storace, Krüger Brothers, and Lys Assia.
Angelo Signore is a music expert at the Swiss Academy of Music and Music Education (Schweizer Akademie für Musik und Musikpädagogik (SAMP)) and works as a producer in his own sound studio.
 

Willy Kotoun (percussion)

Willy KotounWilly Kotoun (*1953) completed his professional training in Afro-Cuban percussion at the Instituto Superior de Arte in Havana/Cuba and studied West African music in Conakry/Guinea. He works as a professional musician and music teacher throughout Europe, and is dedicated to promoting Percussion music in Switzerland. In 1996, he developed the training course Body & Rhythm with the aim of imparting a deeper understanding for music influenced by Africa. For six years, he accompanied the Flamenco artist Nina Corti; he was a member of the Stefan Kurmann Strings for twenty years. Three tours with Sonic Calligraphy led him to China, three with AMAGONG to Burkina Faso. Currently, he is a member of the Martin Dahanukar Quartet.
Willy Kotoun teaches percussion and rhythmic at the Lucerne and Zurich Schools of Music as well as at the Music School Conservatory Zurich (Musikschule Konservatorium Zürich (MKZ).
 

Robert Mark (drums/percussion)

Robert MarkRobert Mark (*1957) studied drums & percussion at the Berklee College of Music in Boston and at the Drummers Collective in New York. He is a member of the Andy Harder Quartet and is involved in special projects such as Soundscapes (with the church organist Zrinka Durut); Sun da l’Engiadina (Music of the Lower Engadine/Switzerland), and Hochformat (performances in huge, highly-acoustic rooms).
Robert Mark teaches drums, percussion, and ensembles at the Music School Conservatory Zurich (Musikschule Konservatorium Zürich (MKZ)) as well as at two Colleges in Zurich (Kantonsschule Rämibühl and Kantonsschule Zürich Nord). Furthermore, he is a lecturer on teaching methodology at the Bern University of the Arts (Hochschule der Künste Bern).
 

Luciano Maranta (e-bass)

Luciano MarantaLuciano Maranta (*1953) studied classical guitar a the Zurich Conservatory (Konservatorium Zürich) and subsequently attended the Zurich School of Jazz (Jazzschule Zürich). During a stay in Cuba, he continued his education with Francisco Rubio (bass player of Chucho Valdes, Isaac Delgado, and Paulito). He worked as a bass player in the studio as well as live in various bands. He played with artists such as Suzanne Klee and Frank Tender, and performed on Swiss TV with Joe Cocker, Sarah Connor, Phil Collins, Kylie Minogue, Laura Pausini, Carmen Fenk, and Helen Schneider.
Luciano Maranta teaches guitar and e-bass at the Music School Conservatory Zurich (Musikschule Konservatorium Zürich (MKZ).
 

Ueli Gasser (guitars)

Ueli GasserUeli Gasser (*1952) studied jazz guitar at the Bern School of Music (Musikhochschule Bern). For years, he was a member of the Swiss Radio and TV bigband (DRS-Bigband) and led his own band Swisshorns. He works as a studio musician and has performed with such artists as Polo Hofer, Hardy Hepp, Toni Vescoli, Bo Katzmann, Max Lässer, Rolf Raggenbass, Helmut Zerlett, Christy Doran, Fredy Studer, Roul Walton, Glenn Ferris, Vladyslav Sendecky, Keiser Twins, Franco Ambrosetti, Toots Thielemans, Jiggs Wigham, Othella Dallas, Craig Russell, Lenny Pickett, Pierre Favre, Joan Orleans as well as the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich under the direction of David Zinman.
Ueli Gasser is a lecturer at the Zurich University of the Arts (Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK)) and taught at the Jazz School Bern and the Jazz School St. Gall.
 

Philippe Mall (sax)

Philippe MallPhilippe Mall (*1956) studied saxophone at the Bern Conservatory (Konservatorium Bern) and subsequently at the Swiss Jazz School Bern. He led several of his own bands (including Head To Toe, The Insects, Ph.Mall Quartet) and cut several albums with them. He toured East Germany with the Acoustic Art Trio from East Germany before the fall of the Berlin Wall. He worked as a guest musician with artists such as Harald Haerter, JoJo Mayer, Dave Doran, Minus 8, El Zorro, and Stephan Rigert, and gave concerts with his big band Paradigma Orchester (minimal jazz with string quartet). At present, he is recording an album with his current jazz band Hydra.
Philippe Mall is a lecturer at the Zurich University of the Arts (Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK)).


Musical styles: Jazz, Funk, Fusion
 
Website: www.journeys.ch
Facebook: facebook.com/journeys.jazz


 
Released by NiRo Sounds: